The Governor-General, on the recommendation of the Minister of Commerce and Consumer Affairs, appoints Commission members for their knowledge of, and experience in, areas relevant to the Commission's interests. The Telecommunications Commissioner is appointed on the recommendation of the Minister of Broadcasting, Communications and Digital Media​.

Mark BerryDr Mark Berry


Dr Mark Berry was appointed Chairman in April 2009 and his term expires in May 2019. He is a former partner of law firm Bell Gully and former consultant with Chapman Tripp. Mark has been in practice as a barrister sole since 2002 and holds a doctorate from Columbia University, New York. He is a former member of the faculty at Otago University Law School, and is a member of the International Advisory Board at the Institute for Consumer Antitrust Studies at Loyola University Chicago School of Law. Mark is also an Associate Member of the Australian Competition and Consumer Commission, a position he will hold till 31 March 2019.

Sue BeggSue Begg

Deputy Chair

Sue Begg was appointed as a Commissioner in June 2009 and Deputy Chair in July 2010. Her term was renewed for a further 5 years in June 2014. She was also appointed as an Associate Member of the Australian Competition and Consumer Commission in April 2016. Sue is an economist, whose previous roles include director of the consultancy company Impetus Group Limited, Vice-President and head of the economic advisory unit of the investment banking division of Credit Suisse First Boston NZ Limited (and its predecessor companies) and manager of the Macroeconomic Policy section at the Treasury.

Stephen GaleDr Stephen Gale

Telecommunications Commissioner

Stephen Gale was appointed as the Telecommunications Commissioner in July 2012 and his term was renewed for a further 3 years in June 2017. Prior to July 2012, he was an Associate Commissioner for 2 years. Stephen has specialised for some years in infrastructure economics (energy, telco and transport) and competition proceedings at the consulting firm Castalia. Before that he was at the New Zealand Institute of Economic Research. He holds a PhD from the University of Cambridge.

Anna RawlingsAnna Rawlings


Anna Rawlings has been a Commissioner since June 2014. She was previously a partner in the dispute resolution division of Minter Ellison Rudd Watts, where she specialised in contentious and non-contentious aspects of competition, regulatory and consumer law. Anna holds a BA/LLB (Hons) from the University of Auckland and an LLM from the University of Toronto, where her work focused on law and economics.

Jill WalkerDr Jill Walker


Jill Walker has been a Commissioner since 1 December 2015, following her appointment as an Associate Commissioner in November 2010. She was a Commissioner of the Australian Competition and Consumer Commission (ACCC) in Australia from September 2009 to April 2016. Before joining the ACCC, Jill was a Member of the Australian Competition Tribunal and worked as an economic consultant. She is currently a member of the Competition Committee at the Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD). She holds a BA in Economics and a PhD in Land Economy from the University of Cambridge. She also holds a Masters degree in Economics from the University of Massachusetts.

Elisabeth WelsonElisabeth Welson


Elisabeth Welson was appointed in September 2012 as Associate Commissioner and as a Commissioner on 19 August 2013. Before joining the Commission, she was a senior commercial partner at Simpson Grierson, where she co-led the competition and regulatory group and headed the energy, natural resources and utilities market group. Elisabeth holds an LLB (Hons) from the University of Auckland and has practised as a Barrister and Solicitor in New Zealand as well as a Solicitor of the Supreme Court of Queensland and Solicitor of the Supreme Court of New South Wales.

John CrawfordJohn Crawford

Associate Commissioner

John Crawford was appointed as an Associate Commissioner in October 2018. Prior to joining the Commission, John was Chief Executive of Auckland Council Investments. He has also held senior management roles at the Treasury, Department of the Prime Minister and Cabinet, and New Zealand Trade and Enterprise. John has substantial commercial and regulatory experience in key sectors such as electricity, energy and telecommunications. He has undergraduate degrees in Science and Engineering, and also holds an MBA from the University of Auckland.

Dr John SmallDr John Small

Associate Commissioner

Dr John Small was appointed as an Associate Commissioner in December 2018. John is the Founding Director of economic consultancy firm, Covec, and was also the former Head of the University of Auckland's Economics Department. He has an extensive experience undertaking complex competition analysis in a wide range of sectors, including energy, transport, agriculture, telecommunications, payment systems, and construction. John was also previously a lay member of the High Court of New Zealand, frequently called as an expert witness before courts, tribunals and commissions.

Sarah Court

Associate Commissioner

ACCC cross-appointment

Sarah Court was cross-appointed from the ACCC as an Associate Commissioner in December 2015. She has been a Commissioner of the ACCC since April 2008, being reappointed for a further 5-year term in 2013. She is a former senior executive lawyer and director with the Australian Government Solicitor. She has extensive experience in Commonwealth legal work, including restrictive trade practices, consumer protection and law enforcement litigation. As Chair of the ACCC’s Enforcement Committee, Sarah oversees the agency’s enforcement and litigation programme. She also sits on the ACCC’s Merger Review Committee, Adjudication Committee and the Infrastructure Committee.

Roger Featherston

Associate Commissioner

ACCC cross-appointment

Roger Featherston was cross-appointed from the ACCC as an Associate Commissioner in April 2018. He has been a Commissioner of the ACCC since June 2014 and chairs the Mergers Review Committee and Adjudication Committee, and is a member of the ACCC’s Enforcement Committee and Communications Committee. Roger was a special counsel for the ACCC from 2012 to 2014, focusing on enforcement projects in respect of supermarkets and petrol retailing. He is a former competition and regulatory law partner at Mallesons Stephen Jaques.